Meet Steve, the #DairyDad

Steve the #DairyDad. When it comes to being kickass, this guy has it down to a science… and I’m not saying that just because he’s going to read this and I want him to buy us Chinese takeout for dinner tonight. *angel halo emoji* Seriously though, this guy is the best. I already wrote sappy things about him and my brother is hunting prairie dogs in Montana with him (like a real life version of that computer game we used to play as kids… anyone else? No? Cool.). SO we’ll let his other two daughters take it from here.

And who may you gals be?

Erin Shaw, registered nurse, mother of a hyperactive and hyper curious one-year old Alexander, and wife to hard working and man child Nicholas.

Heeello, I’m Emily! I’m a 21 year old about to be senior at Penn State University (CRAZY). This summer, my weekdays are filled up with an internship at AgChoice Farm Credit. Outside of being a wild college student and intern, I enjoy spending time with dairy cows through shows and judging, traveling as much as my bank account allows, and being with family and friends.

Who is your #DairyDad?

Erin. Steve Shaw; My father works on the U.S. dairy sales team for Cargill Animal Nutition.

Emmy. Pops name is Steven Patrick Shaw, the same middle name as his dad and my little brother Tyler. He works for Cargill as the National Dairy Sales Leader of the US. This guy is always traveling and meeting with people, and sometimes it’s even hard for me to keep track of him. Becca told me to include some interesting about Pops, like his favorite pizza topping, so here we go: I think my dad enjoys almost anything on pizza, considering it’s a bad slice of pizza is rare like a unicorn, but I do know that he really wants to try the new cheeseburger pizza from Papa Johns! Other than pizza, it’s a fact that he will scope out the best steak in whatever area he is in, along with finding a peachy drink to join it.

How is your dad involved in the dairy industry? How has he supported you in the dairy industry?

Erin. My father introduced me to the dairy life after purchasing my first Holstein, Hillmont Thor Satin when I was eight years old. She was super tall, super fat, and super white but she earned me lots of ribbons and recognition and instilled in me a love for the breed and the industry. The yearly show circuit was where my Dad and I bonded (and fought plenty too) but it was our time together to grow as a family and as a farm. I cannot wait for him to introduce my son and his first grandchild, to the joy that is “show week” and the pride that can be earned from working hard and having beautiful cows!

Emmy. Other than working in the dairy industry through his position in Cargill, my dad has had a passion for the dairy industry his whole life. He grew up on a dairy farm, and then went to Penn State for Dairy Science. Throughout his life, he has been involved with showing and judging. His passion for the industry is contagious and he instilled it in us early on. Dad has always encouraged us to show and judge, and to be involved with taking care of our animals. When there was an opportunity for us, my dad was sure to get us involved.

One word to describe your dad and why you chose that word – go!

Erin. Hardcore. Enough said.

Emmy. Supportive. No matter what I have done throughout my life, my dad was always there to keep things in perspective and push me through tough times with encouragement.

If you had the chance to say once last thing to your dad, what would it be?

Erin. Thank you for stepping up when the other guy didn’t. Thank you for this life that wouldn’t be possible without you. Through the good times and the bad, you taught me how to be self-sufficient and that working hard does pay off.

Emmy. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. I know kids can be frustrating at times, especially when I went through phases of being a teenager full of attitude. *PAUSE – The Cow Chronicler would like to know when this phase ended? Whatever. Carry on* But there has never been a time that you weren’t there for me. From my traveling softball tournaments every weekend in the summer, to waiting for me at our pack after I come back from the show ring to see how I did, you were there to keep me going and enjoy the fun times. I am truly blessed to have you as a dad, and I will always be grateful.


Leave a Reply

