Meet Frank, the #DairyDad

Parker is known for a lot of things, most notably calling me “Becky with the ok hair” (since I’m not Beyonce not matter how hard I try), killing it on the dance floor and dropping bomb one liners. My favorite one liner is something he shared in his #DairyDad interview, “Currently at that stage in life where I’m learning everything my parents’ tried teaching me was right,” because well… same here, man. Don’t tell our parents we admitted it, but they are usually right… 🙂


Who may you be?

The name’s Parker, I’m 26 years old and graduated from Virginia Tech a whopping 5 years ago. Currently at that stage in life where I’m learning everything my parent’s tried teaching me was right. (Listen to your parent’s, kids! They do know best.)

Who is your #DairyDad?

Frank Welch, landscaping extraordinaire, prides himself on his lawn – it’s the second best thing he’s raised (My twin brother, Patrick and I are tied at #1). He works more hours than anyone I know but still found time to coach my brother and I throughout our baseball, basketball, and soccer careers. He’s currently addicted to the “good stuff” as he calls it – Fairlife Chocolate Milk.

How is your dad involved in the dairy industry? How has he supported you in the dairy industry?

My dad didn’t grow up in the dairy industry; he married into it. Although he did spend some time milking cows growing up as one of his many childhood jobs. The ways he’s supported (and still supports) me in the dairy industry are endless. Growing up showing, my dad “hauled ‘em and strawed ‘em,” in his words (he really cracked himself up with this one). When our grandparents sold their herd in 2004, our dad made it possible to keep show heifers at our house and ON HIS LAWN – that’s love folks. He did everything and anything for my brother and I growing up when it came to the cows.

One word to describe your dad and why you chose that word – go!

Selfless – He puts everyone before himself. EVERYONE. If there is someone who needs help with something, he’ll lend a hand – even to a complete stranger. There are numerous occasions where most people would have turned a blind eye, kept driving by, etc. but not my dad. I wish I were half as selfless as he is.

If you had the chance to say once last thing to your dad, what would it be?

Since I probably didn’t say it enough growing up – thank you for all that you did and continue to do. You are appreciated.

Dairy Dad Picture (Parker Welch)

Leave a Reply

