#TransformationTuesday – Meet Emmy!

If there’s one thing my siblings and I have in common, it’s that we like to have fun… especially at college 😉 However, we’re all very determined to find that balance between treating ourselves while staying in shape and living a healthy lifestyle.

Emmy (who’s “Emily” ?) has really come a long way, and I am incredibly proud of her. But don’t tell her I said that… it’ll ruin my rep as the mean older sister.


 

Introduce yourself!

Hi everyone! I’m Emily Shaw, the 20 year old sister of The Cow Chronicler and a junior at Penn State (It’s a family tradition). I like to stay extremely active here at school from being involved in my fraternity Alpha Zeta, the Dairy Science Club, sports, working out and of course having some fun on the weekends. Being so involved in many activities can be a little overwhelming at times, but I always love a challenge 🙂

So you wanted to lose weight… why?

I never wanted to necessarily lose weight, but rather make a healthier me and be in better shape. Being a college student, it isn’t always the easiest to make the healthiest choices. I’ve always been involved with sports in high school and worked out in college, but I wanted to follow a workout regime, be more serious about it and eat healthier.

 Tell us about your workout, diet, etc.

I typically workout five days a week, and this includes weight training, ab workouts and cardio. There isn’t any specific diet I follow, but I always make sure to eat every meal of the day along with small snacks. I try to balance the amount of dairy, protein, carbs and sugars that I eat, and I also drink a lot of water, milk, juice and tea (I stay away from soda!).

 Did you include dairy in your diet? If so, why?

Of course! I’ve always been involved in the dairy industry, so cutting dairy out of my diet wasn’t even a question. Also, dairy is such an important food category that provides us with essential nutrients serves as a great post workout recovery drink, as well as a healthy snack in between meals.

Do you have any advice out there for anyone else trying to complete their own #TransformationTuesday ?

My biggest piece of advice would be to stay consistent with whatever your goals are and how you are going to reach them! Don’t expect any changes to come quickly or easy, and remember that you get out of it what you put into it. Finally, never get rid of dairy in your diet!

Leave a Reply

